Dragon Age: Inquisition Modding Tools

All about modding tools for Dragon Age: Inquisition
It is currently Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:59 pm

All times are UTC



Welcome
Welcome to the Dragon Age Modding tools forum

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: How to NOT act well on this Forum
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 14, 2014 11:17 am
Posts: 38
Has thanked: 1 time
Have thanks: 4 time
Can you please share structure of talktables ? Any chance to make standalone taltable repacker pls ? I mean from prev files


Quote:
Please be polite and when asking for stuff, try to let the coders decide how they want to implement it.

--Ren


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Update Rev 25: Talktables are now exportable to text fil
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 635
Has thanked: 921 time
Have thanks: 314 time
x360w wrote:
Can you please share structure of talktables ? Any chance to make standalone taltable repacker pls ? I mean from prev files

We prefer not to do standalone tools as it is a duplication of effort with no benefit

Just try to learn to use the menu ?

Quote:
We do not want to make a program per person here, our tools are made to be reusable by all

requests for standalone "do this for me" tools are frowned upon

--Ren

_________________
ar-lath-ma-vhenan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Update Rev 25: Talktables are now exportable to text fil
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:53 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 635
Has thanked: 921 time
Have thanks: 314 time
x360w wrote:
Can you please share structure of talktables ? Any chance to make standalone taltable repacker pls ? I mean from prev files
(posted on a different thread)

also do not repost the same request multiple times

That might get you a temporary ban

_________________
ar-lath-ma-vhenan
Renmiri has been thanked by:


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: How to NOT act ob this forum
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:33 pm
Posts: 42
Has thanked: 7 time
Have thanks: 5 time
I understand but it not work on one and don't on another. It doesn't work at all, I haven't positive results to compare with.

Only one guess the importer itself. Maybe it show me swapped texture in preview but in real not all code there z my English sucks don't kbow how explain.

And btw about bundle explorer in dai tool, why when I choose ebx or res, it show me to edit only very small part of hex code in right bottom corner screen?

I asking coz maybe editing .sb files itself it bundle editor will give chance to avoid crashes.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh swap ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 2:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:43 am
Posts: 629
Has thanked: 14 time
Have thanks: 751 time
Importer is fine, its due to what the asset has access to based on the bundles that are currently loaded. Obviously we need more flexibility when it comes to importing, but that comes further down the path, as for individual SB editing, this will not work, as you will not be replacing all references to a given asset, so chances are, you wont even see the changes you make.

This is all still in very early stages, expect things not to work, until there are solid tools to work with, give this at least 3 - 6 months (possibly even longer).
Ehamloptiran has been thanked by:


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh swap ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 7:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:33 pm
Posts: 42
Has thanked: 7 time
Have thanks: 5 time
Too bad i was lazy at school 10 years ago and my english is so bad :)

I cant understand if its NOT animation or skeleton problem why i cant swap meshes right in code.


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh swap ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 9:07 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 635
Has thanked: 921 time
Have thanks: 314 time
Gianni there are over 1.5 million assets in game and 30 GB of data and one mesh can be referenced in several places among those 1.5 million elements. Right now we are doing good progress in finding the places where one mesh is referenced and replacing with the second mesh but there is still a lot of research to find all places.
It isn't as simple as going to your word file and clicking "replace" all instances of "john" with "Mark". Think of having 1.5 million word documents and having to find each document that has the word "John" in it WITHOUT HAVING AN INDEX.

You can understand this is a complicated game engine and we are hacking this with no assistance whatsoever from the engine maker or the game builders ?

Things are being done as best as we can. You need to be more patient or do it yourself.

_________________
ar-lath-ma-vhenan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh swap ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 5:34 am
Posts: 49
Has thanked: 12 time
Have thanks: 1 time
GianniAgn big thanks for ur tryung, plz keep do it!

I can help u as tester, coz i dont so good at coding.

As for ur method, a explore that u get crush coz of.. Patch!

Yes, if i just have official patch, i can swap ebx of texture and it loading ok - toop bad texture not work and face look plain

But if i already have Patch2 and get Patch3 - game crushing!

So its not ur mistake, plz answer my PM i sent, together we can get model swap after we (you) understand how to swap textures!


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mesh swap ?
PostPosted: Sun Dec 28, 2014 11:59 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 3:26 pm
Posts: 635
Has thanked: 921 time
Have thanks: 314 time
Yes it is user mistake

As said multiple times, the current modding tool only supports ONE patch. Having Patch2 and Patch3 WILL NOT WORK.

Please if you insist on doing things we say are not supported don't come here to complain that it isn't working.

_________________
ar-lath-ma-vhenan


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to NOT act well on this Forum
PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 12, 2014 6:12 pm
Posts: 67
Has thanked: 53 time
Have thanks: 35 time
probe88 wrote:
As for now lets close that argue. Tons of work we have in front :)

Yes, please work together.
You/modders have a lot of work ahead.
Lecturing each other won't help, mistustanding happen.
Please be patient with each other and the toolkit.
What you need guys now, is man power ;)

_________________
Image
Chaos17 has been thanked by:


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred