Dragon Age: Inquisition Modding Tools

All about modding tools for Dragon Age: Inquisition
It is currently Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:28 pm

All times are UTC



Welcome
Welcome to the Dragon Age Modding tools forum

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. In addition, registered members also see less advertisements. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, join our community today!


Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Hi guys, first time modder here.

I've been trying to make my first hair mesh now, it's not great quality but for a first attempt with 3ds max, it went reasonably well.

However, despite how well everything seemed to go, the mesh won't show up in-game. There's only a scalp texture where the mesh should be.

Image

To go into details: I followed Ottemis's hair modding tutorial on here and Leto Six's on youtube. Imported the hf p mesh (the hair bun, which I was planning on editing) into 3ds, edited the mesh, exported the mesh to .obj format (carefully selecting the right options, see pic), created a mod with Mod maker (the new mesh was imported without problems), loaded the mod (and only that mod, so no conflict with others) using Mod manager and.. a scalp texture is all I get when I select my newly created hair in the in-game cc :(

Image

I've tried both version 19 and 16 of the Mod maker, but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

After spending so much time fumbling with 3ds max and Mod maker (even creating a new mesh from scratch and trying all over again), I'm feeling pretty bummed. I'm hoping one of you might know what's going on or what I've done wrong. Thanks in advance!

Edit: added modding files to this post, see below.


Attachments:
Anora hair wip.rar [886.32 KiB]
Downloaded 26 times


Last edited by Eleonora on Tue Mar 01, 2016 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:55 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
(Added the modding files to the main post, so anyone can check it out if they want.)

I think I know what might be the problem. The SlimDX.dll file isn't working properly on my pc. That dll is apparently vital for working with Mod Maker (weird that everything seems to work fine regardless, but there you go). Reinstalling SlimDX doesn't solve it either, so it's probably my pc that's messed up.

If anyone has come across a similar problem and/or a solution, I'd love to know. For now, I guess I'll just postpone my modding adventures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2016 9:06 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:14 am
Posts: 24
Location: Divided States of Dysphoria
Has thanked: 113 time
Have thanks: 7 time
when I loaded your 3ds max file I got this prompt:
Attachment:
mismatch.png
mismatch.png [ 21.79 KiB | Viewed 1146 times ]


I don't know if measurement mismatch is the problem or not, but every tutorial I have seen show the import being in metric.

_________________
ELVEN GLORY!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
CapriMe wrote:
when I loaded your 3ds max file I got this prompt:
(img)

I don't know if measurement mismatch is the problem or not, but every tutorial I have seen show the import being in metric.


Thanks for checking! I've read about different time zone settings (oddly enough) being a cause of modding problems, so perhaps a difference in measurement settings could be the cause of my problems as well. I'll go see if it helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:29 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:27 am
Posts: 156
Has thanked: 242 time
Have thanks: 414 time
In the game you must have your mesh settings set to ultra in order for the hair to show up, also when your editing hair make sure u only edit LOD 0


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
I changed the measurement settings to metric, but that didn't help unfortunately. Still only a scalp instead of hair :-(

Adela wrote:
In the game you must have your mesh settings set to ultra in order for the hair to show up, also when your editing hair make sure u only edit LOD 0


Yes, I'm playing the game with mesh settings set to ultra, and I only edited LOD 0 (I think I didn't even import the other LODs in 3ds max).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:31 pm
Posts: 1
Has thanked: 0 time
Have thanks: 0 time
Are you able to see the mesh's preview on the ModMaker?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2016 10:14 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 1:55 pm
Posts: 8
Has thanked: 2 time
Have thanks: 1 time
Your mesh is working properly here.

http://imgur.com/a/FYZXE/all

What I think that could have happened in your case is that your language settings uses another type of decimal separator (forgot the name in english, sorry).
If Adela's suggestion didn't work, you can try to open the .obj file with Notepad and replace (ctrl+H) the dots (.) with commas (,), and import it again in ModMaker and see if it works.
aisuho has been thanked by:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2016 12:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
aisuho wrote:
Your mesh is working properly here.

http://imgur.com/a/FYZXE/all

What I think that could have happened in your case is that your language settings uses another type of decimal separator (forgot the name in english, sorry).
If Adela's suggestion didn't work, you can try to open the .obj file with Notepad and replace (ctrl+H) the dots (.) with commas (,), and import it again in ModMaker and see if it works.

Amazing, it worked! Thanks a lot :D

Image

Changing the dots to commas in Notepad did the trick! I'll see if I can change some settings in 3DS Max to edit that automatically, otherwise I'll just keep using this method, which is great and easy anyway. I'm using the english version of 3DS, but a non-english computer (dutch, to be specific), so therein lies the problem.

Hah, I'm so relieved it finally worked, I kinda already gave up on modding. Now I can start working on my 3D modeling skills because that mesh.. still needs a lot of work :lol:

embass wrote:
Are you able to see the mesh's preview on the ModMaker?

Funny that you mention that, I'm actually not able to see the meshes in ModMaker because a file called SlimDX.dll isn't working correctly on my computer (and I can't seem to fix it either). I thought this was the main cause of my problems but I'm actually able to import/export meshes without any problems. So I have no choice but to import the meshes in 3DS to view them, which I'm okay with since everything else works fine now :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hair mesh creation won't show up in-game
PostPosted: Wed Mar 16, 2016 1:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:29 pm
Posts: 6
Has thanked: 4 time
Have thanks: 0 time
aisuho wrote:
Your mesh is working properly here.

http://imgur.com/a/FYZXE/all

What I think that could have happened in your case is that your language settings uses another type of decimal separator (forgot the name in english, sorry).
If Adela's suggestion didn't work, you can try to open the .obj file with Notepad and replace (ctrl+H) the dots (.) with commas (,), and import it again in ModMaker and see if it works.


Thank you so much, this worked! I can't change the decimal options of my computer, but manually editing the .obj with notepad works like a charm :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
suspicion-preferred